Reusing CDs

Chatting recently about the number of CDs lying around and ways to recycle or reuse them.

I was asked if I could think of ways to do this, beyond the usual hanging ornaments

or as items to deter birds ion the garden.

The project would have to be  on a low-cost, no-cost basis

– meaning that the labour to do the “recycling” would be free,

but any additional items would need to be donated or somehow “found”.

Hmmm now I love a challenge…at first I couldn’t think of anything apart from the usual ideas above.

Then I did some internet research and came up with a few ideas that appealed to me.

Jewelry – use smaller bits of the CD to create pieces

Drink coasters – use the whole CD between two pieces of fabric

Bowls – use the whole CD which is softened by heat

Mosaics – break up the CD and use to decorate found items

House numbers – using reflective qualities of the CD surface so visitors can see your house number

Clocks – use the whole CD as a feature (the clock mechanism might have to be bought

so even though I love this idea I have put it last!)

Any other ideas?? they would be greatly appreciated!

I just love the idea of making jewelry – stay posted for the creations!!

PS If you reuse CDs please remember to use safety gear

protect your eyes with safety glasses and wear protective gloves.

Work in a well ventilated environment

4 Responses to “Reusing CDs”

  1. Liz Says:

    I like the coaster idea. Maybe something to put under candles?

  2. Kazza Says:

    I’ve made name plaques for my kids bedroom door, each letter had a cd (the letter cut out of material or card/paper, the cd was covered with material and paper aswell) I joined them together with thin balsa wood on the back, they looked great. Its easier and neater if the name isn’t to long.


Leave a Reply

